Dangling Proposition [sic]

As a tribute to Mrs. Campbell who taught me how to diagram sentences – of which this isn’t a complete one, whatever.

Sunday, February 24, 2008

Dear Senator Obama:

The next time you print more campaign signs, would you please drop the preposition at the end of your “Change You Can Believe In” slogan?  Please.  It’s been bothering me for some time now.  That would make the slogan simply, “Change You Can Believe.”

Thank you.

Oh, just one more thing.  Why?  I mean, true, your rallies, your entire campaign is one religious experience after another, but why is it that I can believe you can change anything?  I’m not being flip, really, I just don’t think it’s a good idea to elect a President on faith.  If you could provide a list of the times you have changed a two hundred year old bureaucracy or altered the course of world events – when you have time.  No hurry, maybe before the March 4th primaries.  Thanks.

Also, uh, while “can” is technically correct, I feel more comfortable with “may,” as in “may or may not.”  I mean, it’s not as if you can guaranty that you can change anything, can you?  Yes, “Change You May Believe.”  Much better.

Thank you.  I know, I have a real knack for marketing.

WordFeeder Avatar

One response to “Dangling Proposition [sic]

  1. Although I disagree with how you feel about Obama, I also feel strongly about correct grammar usage, so I’m with you on this one. Funny post. (Please excuse the incomplete sentence.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

