Why I don’t want to nominate Barack Obama for President.

Sunday, April 6, 2008

I started writing these notes in response to a comment made by “Paul V” yesterday which I’m going to publish in a few minutes.  His comments are severe and, I think, largely unwarranted, but agreeing with me is not a criterion for guests who visit WordFeeder.  Quite to the contrary, I like the openness of this form of communication, and want to encourage the broad based exchange of ideas which it makes possible.

I’m opposed to the candidacy of Barack Obama for several reasons, some general, some specific.  Here they are, in no particular order.

He’s inexperienced, not just a little bit, but greatly, not just with respect to domestic economic and other issues and international relations, but also with the process of getting things done in Washington.

His concept of governance by consensus, that he can invariably talk his way to a meaningful solution is naïve and, in some situations related to national security, perhaps dangerously so.  To a great extent, leadership requires the will and ability to take action when consensus is impossible.  I’m not confident he has what it takes.

His words are eloquent and stirring, but lack substance.  I have the sense that he’s playing with us, the consummate salesman who smooth talks his way past the fact that he really doesn’t know his product.

I find his blatant use of the race issue to bait white and black Americans into voting for him to be annoying, petty, a classic example of the old school politics which he purports to oppose.  It tends to be divisive, and not at all constructive, which is surprising for a candidate who keeps reminding us how he’s intends to bring everyone together.  America, at its very best, is, as it should be, an amalgamation of differences, not one big happy family.  I don’t care what color he is, and I’m not sure there are many Americans who do.

I’m troubled by his long standing and continuing relationship with Reverend Jeremiah Wright, and find his claims to the effect that he never heard the Pastor’s statements or was aware of the church’s publications to be incredulous.  (As a parent, I wonder how he discussed the Pastor’s sermons with his young, impressionable children who accompanied the Senator and his wife to services.)

I find his repeated claim that “I opposed this war from the start” to be true, but a case of fortunate hindsight.  If you actually read the text of his October 2, 2002, speech, you’ll perhaps understand why I believe his opposition to the use of military force in Iraq, in light of the threats to our national security which he acknowledged, to be proof positive of his naiveté and tendency to pander to his audience.

I’m concerned that he can’t win, that John McCain and the Republican Party will go after him in a way a less experienced, less vetted candidate will not handle effectively.

I’ve written on all these points over the past few months, in pieces which will explain my concerns in greater detail.  Please help yourself to my archives and recent postings.


Site Meter

2 responses to “Why I don’t want to nominate Barack Obama for President.

  1. Obama did not ‘use’ race, it was used against him, he only discussed race in a speech that was a response to the attacks on Reverend Wright. Clinton’s actual experience is a bit thin, so if you are going to vote for the most experienced candidate, you should support Mc Cain.
    If the way Hillary has run her campaign is any indication of how she would run this country, I think that if she is elected we will all look back fondly on the ‘bush years’.

  2. Hi. Thanks for your comment.

    About Senator Obama’s using race to encourage support for his candidacy, please take a look at “Channeling JFK” (posted 3/14/08).

    Also, running a campaign is one thing, running our government is another altogether. Being President is a contact sport, figuratively speaking, that requires the ability to throw a punch as well as take one. I don’t have the confidence that Senator Obama can do either. Eight years from now perhaps, but not yet.

    And I’m certain Senator Clinton understands better than Senator Obama how to accomplish any policy or program objective within the context of today’s government. We don’t have the time to wait for Senator Obama to realize his vision for how our government should work or, more likely, come to the conclusion that it’s beyond his ability to change it.

    Please stop by again when you have time. There are plenty of people who agree with me. It’s good to hear from someone who doesn’t.

    -wf

Leave a Reply

