Palin, Letterman and the Double Standard

Thursday, June 11, 2009

I’m not sure what’s more offensive, Mr. Letterman’s reprehensible sense of comedy and poor excuse for an apology, or the double standard that has plagued Governor Palin since her introduction to national politics. If Letterman’s comments had been about President Obama’s children, CBS corporate would have apologized for him, his contract would be in jeopardy, and I doubt his studio and TV audiences would have found his remarks as humorous. Mr. Letterman owes the Palin family a proper apology. In the meantime, I’m watching Conan O’Brien.

-wf


Site Meter

5 responses to “Palin, Letterman and the Double Standard

  1. Letterman did that for ratings which he now lacks since Conan has entered his show with a bang. What he said was not a joke, and deserves an apology. I am upset about this matter because it is the injustice that Sarah Palin has experienced. I will encourage you to watch her latest interview on Hanity. This woman is the total opposite which the media has made her out to be. Poor Letterman, just ignore him.

  2. I’ll take a look at the interview. Part of her problem is that she doesn’t fit the standard mold for politicians, which is a good thing and an especially welcome, desperately needed breath of fresh air for the Republicans. Thanks for stopping by. -wf

  3. Watching paint dry is more entertaining than watching Conan O’Brien.

    • And I thought I was the only one who thinks watching paint dry is funny. Personally, I find some of the Ralph Lauren shades of green to be drop dead hysterical. I bet you collect samples from the Home Depot paint department when no one’s looking. Me, too. I’m saving them up to wallpaper my study.

      More to the point, Conan has his problems alright, but so far as I know his creative juices haven’t evaporated to the point of confusing making fun of people with being funny. Dave needs to retire.

      -wf

  4. I miss what is great about the Conan show. Great Marketing. Check out my post on Letterman and Palin.

Leave a Reply

