Hotel Trashcans

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Why are hotel trashcans so small? Do they think we’ll make less trash if there’s no place to put it?

I’ve been traveling a lot lately, staying at small town Marriott Courtyards. See the picture of my trash can. I left the hotel pen on the floor to give you an idea of its size, the trash can that is, and because it (the pen) rolled off my tiny desk without me noticing. No comment on my late evening eating habits, please. I want you to know that, behind the Pepsi bottle and the box of Brent & Sam’s chocolate chip pecan cookies, is an empty bottle of Ocean Spray Apple Juice. It’s the bottle with the blue top. So there. I also had a York Peppermint Pattie which I kept in my room’s refrigerator until it was perfect.

Sure, the trash cans may be too small, but then the plastic liners in them are too short. Somehow, it all makes sense. (Who buys this stuff?) I’m pretty sure the liners are made by the same people – may even be the same bags as the ones that come in the ice buckets, which are also too short and fall into the bucket as soon as the first cube hits them. I’ve tried holding my hands around the outside of the bucket as if I was strangling it, but then I have no way to push on the dispenser.

Nice lamp. What do you think?

-wf

Leave a Reply

